Research Project - Please Respond Message board

• View author's info Author Posted on Feb 23, 2006 at 01:28 PM

Hi!
    My name is Misha. I am a student at Sarah Lawrence College in Bronxville, New York.

I am currently taking a class about people of Asian descent living in the United States. As an independent study stemming from the class, I am trying to reach out to Asian Americans over the Internet and gather information. I am researching ties to tradition that Asian Americans feel and rituals from their homeland they may take part in while living in America. Specifically, I'm researching if Asian Americans choose to wear traditional wedding clothing on their wedding day.

Please respond if you have or have not worn traditional dress or have strong opinions on it. It would also be extremely helpful for my project to specify one's specific nation of heritage and whether the participant is foreign-born or born in the United States. I also have little knowledge on the actual appearance of the wedding dress. What consists of the traditional clothing worn on one's wedding day, does anyone have pictures they would mind sharing with me? Are there differing opinions based on one's religion?

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and I do hope you'll share some opinions with me.
    Follow - email me when people comment
  • 2Comments

• View author's info Posted on Nov 23, 2011 at 09:08 PM

Not quite on to the exact request but knew a very traditional Chinese family from Taiwan clear back in the 1950's. They wore the same type clothes as other Americans and were also Christians. But where the real tradition played in was when the daughters began dating. The men they dated had to also be Chinese. but one daughter went against that and dated ad then married a Caucasian. For that the family had a funeral for the daughter forever casting her out of their lives. I know she had no contact with her family some 20 years later.